Since 1967, on or around Hans Christian Andersen's birthday, 2 April, International Children's Book Day (ICBD) is celebrated to inspire a love of reading and to call attention to children's books.

Every other year IBBY presents the Hans Christian Andersen Awards to a living author and illustrator whose complete works have made a lasting contribution to children's literature.

The Hans Christian Andersen Award is the highest international recognition given to an author and an illustrator of children's books. Her Majesty Queen Margrethe II of Denmark is the Patron of the Andersen Awards.


The five short-listed authors in alphabetical order are:
María Teresa Andruetto (Argentina)
Paul Fleischman (USA)
Bart Moeyaert (Belgium)
Jean-Claude Mourlevat (France)
Bianca Pitzorno (Italy).

The five short-listed illustrators in alphabetical order are:
Mohammad Ali Beniasadi (Iran)
John Burningham (UK)
Roger Mello (Brazil)
Peter Sís (Czech Republic)
Javier Zabala (Spain).

Here you've got THE PRINCESS AND THE PEA written by Hans Christian Andersen.